The Inner Temple

My garage has a workshop at the back. It’s an ideal space for me to store my collection of vintage computers. I have over 25 so space is at a premium. I’m relatively tidy, but there is clutter and cables and components lying around – as well as books piled up on top of each other. It’s a great storage space – but it is a mess and I don’t have room to sort things out as every surface and shelf space is occupied.

Sometimes, I think, my body which I’m told is “a temple for the Holy Spirit” (1 Corinthians 6:19) tends to be like my workshop. Day by day, it’s easy to allow my spirit to fill with thoughts and influences that simply don’t leave much room for God. Distractions and influences that clutter up my spiritual life rather than keeping it clean and clear. It’s easy for healthy thoughts, wisdom and love to be replaced by other things, especially if I don’t spend time in God’s presence praying and reading the Bible. Maintaining a right relationship with God is hard unless we make uncluttered space in our spirits for Him.

And we are changed and renewed by God’s Spirit. So, if we want a Pentecost experience we must be prepared for the scorching fire of God to destroy the unworthy rubbish of our lives leaving something fit and acceptable for His service. “Create in me a clean heart, O God” (Psalm 51:10).

Love in His Name and Service.               

One thought on “The Inner Temple

Leave a Reply

